

# UNIVERSITY OF IOWA GRADUATE AND PROFESSIONAL STUDENT GOVERNMENT

15th Session – September 6, 2022 GPSG D.R. #2

Sponsor: Sean Newman, Graduate College Delegate, on behalf of President Amber Crow GPSG Action Passed/Pailed/Tabled

### **A RESOLUTION**

The Graduate and Professional Student Government is tasked with selecting and appointing graduate and professional students to sit on and participate on several Presidential Charter Committees. This Resolution confirms the nominations and formally appointments the following graduate and professional students to these respective committees.

### **Section 1: Short Title**

This Resolution may be cited as "Confirmation of 2022-2023 Appointments to Presidential Charter Committees."

## **Section 2: Discussion**

**WHEREAS,** Presidential Charter Committees serve as an advisory body for students and faculty working to address specific areas of interest in the University of Iowa community;

**WHEREAS,** Presidential Charter Committees directly advice the University of Iowa President, Barbara Wilson, and her administration;

**WHEREAS**, the Graduate and Professional Student Government is tasked with soliciting student applications, reviewing applications, conducting necessary interviews, and nominating students for appointment to the various Presidential Charter Committees;

**WHEREAS**, last spring 2022 the following students navigated the appointment process and have been nominated to serve on each respective committee; and

**WHEREAS**, some vacancies for graduate and professional students exist and a supplemental Resolution will be presented at the following GPSG meeting to fill said vacancies.

## **Section 3: Action**

President Amber Crow has nominated the following individuals for appointment to the respective committees and seeks confirmation from the Council of Delegates:

- Council on Teaching Megan Dehner (graduate student);
- Committee on Diversity Caitlynn Brown (graduate student);
- Family Issues Megan Dehner (graduate student);
- Financial Aid Advisory Eric Field (graduate student) and Amira Nash (graduate student);
- Hancher Auditorium Kyle Ayers (graduate student), Christos Sidiropoulos (graduate student), and Eric Field (graduate student);
- Parking and Transportation Madeline Wilson (graduate student);
- Research Council Madeline Wilson (graduate student);
- University Libraries Emma Barton-Norris (graduate student) and Madeline Meylor (graduate student); and
- Lecture Committee Aastha Chandra (graduate student co-chair), Cesar Perez (graduate student), John Dickens (graduate student), Kevin Larson (graduate student).

#### **Section 4: Enactment**

**THEREFORE,** be it enacted by the University of Iowa Graduate and Professional Student Government upon the signature of the President.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF:

Grace Bryant
Cabinet Director

APPROVED:

Amber D. Crow
GPSG President

09/06/2022

Date